League Info

South Cotswold Bowls League 2024

Fixtures for the 2024 season have been sent to all clubs and published on this web site. Matches in all divisions will start on Tuesday 7th May and are due to finish on Tuesday 6th August.

All matches to start by 18:30 at the latest throughout the season and play is over 18 ends with 2 trial ends.

The South Cotswold Bowls League operates over a wide geographical area, generally encompassed by Nailsworth, Fairford, Malmesbury, Olveston and Frampton on Severn though a majority of the clubs are concentrated in the Stroud area.

There are currently 14 clubs participating in the League with some entering more than one team.  In 2024, there will be 27 teams participating, organised into four divisions.  Divisions 1,2, and 3 will each consist of 7 teams who play each other on a home-away basis whilst Division 4 will consist of 6 teams, again each playing each other on a home and away basis.

Promotion/Relegation is generally on a two-up, two-down basis at the end of each season with prize money for the first two teams in each division.  Promotion and/or relegation may be amended at an AGM to satisfactorily structure Divisions for a forthcoming season.

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held in October or November of each year. The fees for the subsequent season will be agreed at this meeting.  The fee for each team entered in the League is currently £60.00 which must be paid to the Treasurer by 31st December following the AGM.

Matches are played on a Tuesday evening with results notified to the Fixture Secretary by e-mail before 18:00hrs on the day following the game at the very latest. 

The League is run by a small number of elected Officers, currently

            Chairman – Barry Upward, Cotswold

            Secretary/Fixtures Secretary – Robert Harris, Olveston & District

            Treasurer – Denzil Vellacott, Fairford

There is an AGM in October or November each year at which the league officers are elected, fixtures and arrangements for the following season agreed, and presentations of prize money and trophies made.

For further information or to discuss the possibility of joining the league, please use the e-mail address below (no automatic link)